Last Updated: Jan 12, 2017
What are the best databases for health sciences research?
- CINAHL with Full-Text
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. . You can find a tutorial on how to search in this database here
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. Find help for using Cochrane Library here.
- Nursing Resource Center with Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Designed to support nursing students. This resource offers premier supplemental reference material geared to the education and research needs of nursing students, providing relevant, easy-to-understand information on nursing topics.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text database that provides full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus current and reliable personal health information.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
UpToDate® is the premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.