Last Updated: Nov 15, 2016
What are the best databases for historical research?
- U.S. History in Context
Primary and secondary history sources combined with the media-rich selections, including key titles from Macmillan, Scribner and other world-class sources. Find comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America 1,000 years ago to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
- World History in Context
Covers nearly 5,000 years to chronicle the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. Rare primary sources combine with reliable references to put content into context for every learner.
- ProQuest History
- Massachusetts History Online
Use this collection for full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.
- Biography in Context
Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.
- World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- ProQuest Newspapers
This collection includes many full-text, searchable newspapers from across the country, including the New York Times (1980 to current), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to current), and the Washington Post (1987 to current). Also includes eighteen full-text Massachusetts newspapers, including the Boston Globe (1980 to current). You can find a tutorial on how to search in this database here
- Academic Search Premier