Library Research Skills Assessment
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "English and Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English and Literature  

Use this guide to help you find information for any of your English classes.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.aic.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar Search

 

Is it Scholarly?

Use this checklist to determine if your article is scholarly:

Are the author's academic credentials included in the article?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not Sure

Page through the article. Does the article have a formal structure? A formal structure often includes headings such as "literature review," "results," "discussion," "conclusion."

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not Sure

Does the author include a list of works cited, references, or a bibliography?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not Sure

IF you answered YES to all of these questions, then your article is scholarly.

 

Find Journal by title

Enter the title of the journal here

Recommended Databases

What are the best databases for English and literary research?

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    General academic database covering a wide variety of disciplines. Full-text peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, newspaper, and magazine articles from more thousands of sources.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, overviews or 75,000 frequently studied works, and over 30,000 poems, short stories and plays.
  • ProQuest Literature & Language
    Searches 4 ProQuest databases simultaneously. Provides access to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in literature, many in full-text.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Offers a range of perspectives on important issues to help critical-thinking skills using reference, periodical, news, primary and multimedia sources.
  • Biography in Context
    Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A mix of more than 50 full-text E-reference books in a range of subjects including covering the arts, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science
  • NoveList Plus
    Reading recommendations for both fiction and non-fiction for readers of all ages.
 

Information Cycle

 

Research 101: Searching

 

Popular vs. Scholarly

Watch this slide show to learn about the difference between Scholarly and Popular periodicals.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Katie Beth Ryan
 

Featured Journals

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip