This is the "Home" page of the "Performing & Visual Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Performing & Visual Arts   Tags: aic, art, fine arts, music, theater, theatre  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.aic.edu/content.php?pid=451606 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is "commedia dell'arte"?

"A popular form of comedy employing improvised dialogue and masked characters that flourished in Italy from the 16th to the 18th [century]."

"Commedia dell'arte." The Columbia Encyclopedia. New York: Columbia University Press, 2013. Credo Reference. Web. 03 April 2013.

 

Featured book

Cover Art
Hollywood and the American Historical Film - J. E. Smyth (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.H5H63 2012
ISBN: 023023092X
Publication Date: 2012-02-15
"This definitive interdisciplinary collection by leading scholars probes the theoretical and historical contexts of films made about the American past, from silent film to the present. The book offers a fresh assessment of studio era historical filmmaking and its legacy across a range of genres."
http://amzn.com/023023092X

Search Google Scholar

 

Search Google Books

Find Articles

What are the best databases for research in performing and visual arts?

  • Academic Search Premier
    General academic database covering a wide variety of disciplines. Full-text peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, newspaper, and magazine articles from more thousands of sources.
  • Biography in Context
    Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.
 

Find Books

There are several ways to search the catalog.

  • You can do a Keyword search.  Simply type in a word or words related to your topic. Your results will include all items in the catalog which contain the word(s) you provided.
  • Alternatively, you can do a Subject search.  Subject searches are more narrow as only items with your word in the subject heading field will be included.
  • Some subject headings specifically related to performing and visual arts are:

Theater

Acting

Performing Arts

Film

Art

Painting

Motion Picture

Sculpture

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nancy Little
Contact Info
413-205-3419
Send Email

Citation Guides

  • OWL MLA
    Home page for Purdue University's Online Writing Lab's MLA section. Links to specific citation types within MLA are on the left side of the page.
  • OWL MLA Annotated Bibliographies
    Provides instructions on creating annotated bibliographies. Also includes sample annotated bibliographies.

User submissions!

Have suggestions for books, websites, databases, or journals which you think we should include in this guide?  Let us know!

 

Feedback!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip